Bill No. 171 of 2018

THE CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2018

Α

BILL

further to amend the Central Universities Act, 2009.

BE it enacted by Parliament in the Sixty-ninth Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

1. (1) This Act may be called the Central Universities (Amendment) Act, 2018.

Short title and commencement.

- (2) It shall come into force on such date as the Central Government may, by notification 5 in the Official Gazette, appoint.

2. After section 3B of the Central Universities Act, 2009 (hereinafter referred to as the Insertion of principal Act), the following sections shall be inserted, namely:—

new sections 3C and 3D.

"3C. There shall be established a University, which shall be a body corporate, to be known as the Central University of Andhra Pradesh, having its territorial jurisdiction extending to the whole of the State of Andhra Pradesh, as specified in the 10 First Schedule to this Act.

Establishment of Central University of Andhra Pradesh.

3D. There shall be established a Tribal University, which shall be a body corporate, to be known as the Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, having its territorial jurisdiction extending to the whole of the State of Andhra Pradesh, as specified in the First Schedule to this Act, to provide avenues of higher education and research facilities primarily for the tribal population of India.".

Establishment of Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh.

15

25 of 2009.

Amendment of section 5.

3. In section 5 of the principal Act, the following proviso shall be inserted at the end, namely:—

"Provided that the Tribal University established under section 3D shall take additional measures for paying special attention to the tribal centric higher eduction and research, including art, culture and customs.".

Substitution of new Schedule for First Schedule. **4.** For the First Schedule to the principal Act, the following Schedule shall be substituted, namely:—

"THE FIRST SCHEDULE

[See section 3(4)]

Serial No.	Name of the State	Name of the University	Territorial jurisdiction
(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Central University of Andhra Pradesh	Whole of the State of Andhra Pradesh
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh	Whole of the State of Andhra Pradesh
3.	Bihar	Central University of South Bihar	Territory in the South of the River Ganges in the State of Bihar
4.	Bihar	Mahatma Gandhi Central University	Territory in the north of the River Ganges in the State of Bihar
5.	Gujarat	Central University of Gujarat	Whole of the State of Gujarat
6.	Haryana	Central University of Haryana	Whole of the State of Haryana
7.	Himachal Pradesh	Central University of Himachal Pradesh	Whole of the State of Himachal Pradesh
8.	Jammu and Kashmir	Central University of Kashmir	Kashmir Division of the State of Jammu and Kashmir
9.	Jammu and Kashmir	Central University of Jammu	Jammu Division of the State of Jammu and Kashmir
10.	Jharkhand	Central University of Jharkhand	Whole of the State of Jharkhand
11.	Karnataka	Central University of Karnataka	Whole of the State of Karnataka
12.	Kerala	Central University of Kerala	Whole of the State of Kerala
13.	Odisha	Central University of Odisha	Whole of the State of Odisha
14.	Punjab	Central University of Punjab	Whole of the State of Punjab
15.	Rajasthan	Central University of Rajasthan	Whole of the State of Rajasthan
16.	Tamil Nadu	Central University of Tamil Nadu	Whole of the State of Tamil Nadu.".

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The Central Universities Act, 2009 was enacted to establish and incorporate universities for teaching and research in various States and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

- 2. Establishment of one Central University and one Central Tribal University in the State of Andhra Pradesh will increase access and quality of higher education and also facilitate and promote avenues of higher education and research facilities for the people of the State. Further, the Tribal University will promote advance knowledge by providing instructional and research facilities in tribal art, culture and customs and advancement in technology to the tribal population of India. A part from being focused to the tribal education, the Central Tribal University shall carry out all educational and other activities like any other Central University. At present, there is no Central University in the State of Andhra Pradesh while all other States, except Goa, have one or more Central University. Moreover, the establishment of a Central University and a Central Tribal University in the State of Andhra Pradesh is obligatory under the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.
- 3. Accordingly, it has been decided to amend the Central Universities Act, 2009 to provide for the establishment of one University by the name of "Central University of Andhra Pradesh" and one Tribal University by the name of "Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh" in the State of Andhra Pradesh.
 - 4. The Bill seeks to achieve the above objectives.

New Delhi; *The 3rd December*, 2018.

PRAKASH JAVADEKAR.

FINANCIAL MEMORANDUM

Clause 2 of the Bill seeks to insert new sections 3C and 3D in the Central Universities Act, 2009, so as to establish two new universities as the body corporates to be known as the Central University of Andhra Pradesh and the Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, having its territorial jurisdiction extending to the whole of the State of Andhra Pradesh.

2. The infrastructure for the two universities shall be set up in two phases, with a cap on expenditure, for four years for the period from 2018-19 to 2021-22 ending in March, 2022. Approximately, fifty per cent. of the projected cost will be spent in phase I, with a cap of four hundred fifty crore rupees for the Central University and four hundred twenty crore rupees for the Tribal University, being the total cost for phase I for the two universities as eight hundred seventy crore rupees. However, the expenditure would be met from the Consolidated Fund of India, through the budgetary provisions of the Ministry of Human Resource Development.

ANNEXURE

Extract from the Central Universities $Ac\tau, 2009\,$

(25 of 2009)

* * * * *

THE FIRST SCHEDULE

[See section 3(4)]

Sl.	Name of	Name of the University	Territorial jurisdiction
No.	the State		
1.	Bihar	Central University of South Bihar	Territory in the South of the River Ganges in the State of Bihar
1A.	Bihar	Mahatma Gandhi Central University	Territory in the North of the River Ganges in the State of Bihar
2.	Gujarat	Central University of Gujarat	Whole of the State of Gujarat
3.	Haryana	Central University of Haryana	Whole of the State of Haryana
4.	Himachal Pradesh	Central University of Himachal Pradesh	Whole of the State of Himachal Pradesh
5.	Jammu and Kashmir	Central University of Kashmir	Kashmir Division of the State of Jammu and Kashmir
5A.	Jammu and Kashmir	Central University of Jammu	Jammu Division of the State of Jammu and Kashmir
6.	Jharkhand	Central University of Jharkhand	Whole of the State of Jharkhand
7.	Karnataka	Central University of Karnataka	Whole of the State of Karnataka
8.	Kerala	Central University of Kerala	Whole of the State of Kerala
9.	Orissa	Central University of Orissa	Whole of the State of Orissa
10.	Punjab	Central University of Punjab	Whole of the State of Punjab
11.	Rajasthan	Central University of Rajasthan	Whole of the State of Rajasthan
12.	Tamil Nadu	Central University of Tamil Nadu	Whole of the State of Tamil Nadu.

* * * * * *

LOK SABHA

A

BILL

further to amend the Central Universities Act, 2009.